Loopy

So I made this thing with Processing on my Christmas break after I stopped working on video games. It’s called loopy right now because I am not good at naming things, but what it does is record midi events into a class called a note, display them as information useable by the musician playing them, and as visuals on a separate screen, and then loops through them over and over again. When each note is played it sends midi like information to Pure Data, where I create the sounds with samplers and synthesizers. It’s meant to be like a live sampling rig, but live sequencing (and displaying) instead. This is the video I used in my portfolio. It is a very early version of the software, and will undergo many cosmetic and functional changes I am sure, but I would like to use it in performances when I am attending NSCAD in the Fall. You can find all the necessary Processing and PD files (and freesound samples) here. There are quite a few files there for both Processing and PD, and you need a midi keyboard plugged in for the Processing sketch to compile, but it should work if you jiggle it a little. Let me know if you can’t.

About keithkarnage

KeithK is an artist living in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He mostly works in programming and video games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

