More Amazing Shots!

<p>

</p><p>This was on Canada Day.  Beautiful day for a walk on the waterfront, and a wonderful day for cloud watching.  The things they do, that we can not perceive is like visual poetry.  I started out on the waterfront people watching but after about 600 or so shots sofortbild borked while switching between programs.  By this time I was beginning to lament not just going straight to Citadel Hill.  The clouds were so perfect looking.  There are two reasons I am doing this I guess, one is for use in blue screening probably for live audio/visual performance and the other is just to make video compilation of time lapses of Halifax, mostly just for fun I guess.  I think I would enjoy scoring it (musically).  For the former though, I am looking for really good shots of just clouds though.  TimeLapse 9 went really well, in that the clouds are all going in the same direction and are very consistent.  This one went well because the clouds just exhibited some incredible behaviour that I am pretty sure I can isolate well.  These are all taken at 3000 x 2000 (roughly) pixels, so in the photo compiling process it shouldn’t be hard to zoom and pan while retaining HD resolution.  As for the latter of the two reasons for doing this, after catching beautiful clouds on the hill (and catching a nice tan) I returned to my original spot in the shade of a large mirrored building.  The density of passers-by and sailboats differs a bit in the two shots, but I think it should pan pretty well from the last (reflections) to the first (real).</p><p>This sort of brings up another topic, which is the program I wrote that compiles the images into a .mov file.  It is pretty simple.  It just zooms the large image to fit in an HD video, and sometimes moves the image up and down on the side that has some space left.  It being so simple is actually the only reason I haven’t published it.  I downloaded the Nikon NEF SDK today, which should allow me to add raw conversion to my process.  It would more than double the memory footprint I think, and I don’t know if it will work with processing so I may have to imitate my blessedly simple program in another language, but it would provide incredible control of the colour and quality of the work.  I am actually really excited to play with it.  But I’m not going to.  I have other important projects that require most of my attention this summer (I will surprise you all with that later), so I probably won’t get to work on that much until later.  Which is kind of sad because I plan on taking many more of these time lapses before I plan on finding the time to write the new program.</p><p>~keithk</p>

About keithkarnage

KeithK is an artist living in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He mostly works in programming and video games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

